World of Books - Find your book here

The Long, Long Life of Trees

The Long, Long Life of Trees

Fiona Stafford

In this beautifully illustrated volume Fiona Stafford offers intimate, detailed explorations of seventeen common trees, from ash and apple to pine, oak, cypress, and willow.
Burns and Other Poets

Burns and Other Poets

Preview

David Sergeant, Fiona Stafford. AND OTHER POETS EDITED BY DAVID SERGEANT AND FIONA STAFFORD AND OTHER POETS EDITED BY DAVID SERGEANT AND FIONA STAFFORD. Front Cover.
Jane Austen: A Brief Life

Jane Austen: A Brief Life

Fiona Stafford

Why were hers the books that Darwin knew by heart and Churchill read during the Blitz?
The Long, Long Life of Trees

The Long, Long Life of Trees

Fiona Stafford

A lyrical tribute to the diversity of trees, their physical beauty, their special characteristics and uses, and their ever-evolving meanings
Local Attachments: The Province of Poetry

Local Attachments: The Province of Poetry

Fiona Stafford

This book explores the literature of local attachment through the consideration of works by writers - Heaney, Burns, Wordsworth, Scott, Lamb, and Dickens - whose feeling for place is especially evident.
Every war has two losers: William Stafford on peace and war

Every war has two losers: William Stafford on peace and war

William Stafford

This powerful book about nonviolence includes never-before-published excerpts from William Stafford's daily journal from 1951 to 1991.
Gabriel West: Still the One

Gabriel West: Still the One

Fiona Brand

Fiona Brand. Gabriel West: Still the One FIONA BRAND Books by Fiona Brand Silhouette Intimate Moments Cullen's Bride #914. Gabriel West: Still the One FIONA BRAND.
Super Star 3 Tchr Bk

Super Star 3 Tchr Bk

Cuf Lecturer in English Fiona Stafford

Each lesson from the Student's Book is reproduced in the Teacher’s Book for easy reference, and the easy-to-follow layout provides busy teachers with a valuable teaching aid.
From Gaelic to Romantic: Ossianic Translations

From Gaelic to Romantic: Ossianic Translations

Preview

IV (2), 1998.823-24. ' Mary Shelley, Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus, Oxford, 1980, 127 (chapter xv). Fiona Stafford, The Sublime Savage: James Macpherson and the Poems of Ossian, Edinburgh. 1988,2. illustration of the complexity ...
Reading Romantic Poetry

Reading Romantic Poetry

Fiona Stafford

The book introduces readers, often for the first time, to the pleasure of reading Romantic poetry.
Sentimental Literature and Anglo-Scottish Identity, 1745–1820

Sentimental Literature and Anglo-Scottish Identity, 1745–1820

Juliet Shields

2 Following the conventions established by Ossian scholars Howard Gaskill and Fiona Stafford, I will refer to the poems collectively as Ossian. 3 The development of Celtic studies as a discipline has been crucial to the critical rehabilitation of ...
Ask Me: 100 Essential Poems of William Stafford

Ask Me: 100 Essential Poems of William Stafford

William Stafford

"In our time there has been no poet who revived human hearts and spirits more convincingly than William Stafford." —Naomi Shihab Nye Some time when the river is ice ask me mistakes I have made.
Jane Austen's Possessions and Dispossessions: The ...

Jane Austen's Possessions and Dispossessions: The ...

S. Byrne

James Kinsley and Fiona Stafford (Oxford World's Classics, Oxford University Press, 2008), n. to p. 177. 9. More kinds of tree are listed in the description of Cleveland in Sense and Sensibility, which has fir, mountain-ash, acacia and Lombardy ...
The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths: Fiona Griffiths Crime ...

The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths: Fiona Griffiths Crime ...

Harry Bingham

This is definitely one my favourite thriller series' Audrey, Top 500 Reviewer Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 1. Talking to the Dead 2.
Social Justice Handbook: Small Steps for a Better World

Social Justice Handbook: Small Steps for a Better World

Mae Elise Cannon

Wess stafford and Compassion International Wess stafford and Compassion International new Monasticism the simple Way ... Wess Stafford, president of Compassion International, is a devoted follower of Christ who has committed his life to ...
Talking to the Dead: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series

Talking to the Dead: Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series

Harry Bingham

Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 'I have to say that in a lifetime of reading crime fiction I have never come across anyone quite like Fiona Griffiths . . . Read this book. Enjoy every syllable.
Lyrical Ballads: 1798 and 1802

Lyrical Ballads: 1798 and 1802

William Wordsworth

1798 and 1802 William Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge Fiona Stafford. Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. It furthers the University's objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by ...
William Morris: A Life for Our Time

William Morris: A Life for Our Time

Fiona MacCarthy

Fiona MacCarthy's skilful drawing together of these disparate elements makes for a comprehensive and compelling biography.
Fiona's Luck

Fiona's Luck

Teresa Bateman

A clever woman named Fiona must pass the leprechaun king's tests when she tries to get back all the luck he has locked away from humans.
Stafford in the Great War

Stafford in the Great War

Nick Thomas

Stafford in the Great War tells the fascinating story of a county town and its people between the catastrophic years of 1914-18 .
Echo Objects: The Cognitive Work of Images

Echo Objects: The Cognitive Work of Images

Barbara Maria Stafford

Barbara Maria Stafford is at the forefront of a growing movement that calls for the humanities to confront the brain’s material realities.
Last Curtsey: The End of the Debutantes

Last Curtsey: The End of the Debutantes

Fiona MacCarthy

Fiona MacCarthy traces the stories of the girls who curtseyed that year, and shows how their lives were to open out in often very unexpected ways - as Britain itself changed irreversibly during the 1960s, and the certainties of the old ...
A Deadly Exchange

A Deadly Exchange

Sheryl Jane Stafford

Sheryl Jane Stafford. “Get my thirty-eight from the shelf on my side of the V-berth,” he told her. Matt liked revolvers. He knew that they were considered as out of date as flint-lock muskets by those who carried a weapon in their daily lives.
Stafford at War 1939-1945

Stafford at War 1939-1945

Nick Thomas

And he recalls the contribution Stafford made to the war effort at home and abroad. The story he tells gives a fascinating insight into wartime life and it is a moving record of the sacrifices made by local people.
On William Stafford: The Worth of Local Things

On William Stafford: The Worth of Local Things

Tom Andrews

Many agree with Louis Simpson that there is really not so great a distance between the work of William Stafford and the products of the new "establishment" as fashionable critical response and major literary awards would suggest.
Trapping Fog: A Slice of Steampunk

Trapping Fog: A Slice of Steampunk

William Stafford

Meanwhile, Damien Deacus, sidekick to a mysterious doctor, strives to keep himself out of trouble - and fails! Author William Stafford combines humour, horror and steampunk in this historical fantasy of gruesome crime and comic invention.
The Address: A Novel

The Address: A Novel

Fiona Davis

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER Fiona Davis, author of The Dollhouse, returns with a compelling novel about the thin lines between love and loss, success and ruin, passion and madness, all hidden behind the walls of The Dakota—New York City’s ...
Fiona the Flower Girl

Fiona the Flower Girl

Carley Roney

Fiona is excited when she finds out that she is to be a flower girl in her aunt's wedding; includes tips for parents on how to prepare girls for the big day.
Fiona Hall: Big Game Hunting

Fiona Hall: Big Game Hunting

Kendrah Morgan

Exhibition catalogue published to accompany the exhibition of the work of artist Fiona Hall at Heide Museum of Modern Art.
Een minuut (eBoek): n Oomblik kan 'n kind se lewe vir altyd ...

Een minuut (eBoek): n Oomblik kan 'n kind se lewe vir altyd ...

Wess Stafford

n Oomblik kan 'n kind se lewe vir altyd verander Wess Stafford. 'n Oomblik kan 'n kind se lewe vir altyd verander EEN MINUUT Wess Stafford saam met Dean Merrill EEN MINlllIT Wess Stafford saam nm Dcan Mcrrill This book.