World of Books - Find your book here

The Mechanical Horse: How the Bicycle Reshaped American Life

The Mechanical Horse: How the Bicycle Reshaped American Life

Margaret Guroff

And as the historian James Longhurst: Longhurst, Bike Battles, 62–79. St. Paul, Minnesota, for example: James Longhurst, “The Sidepath Not Taken: Bicycles, Taxes, and the Rhetoric of the Public Good in the 1890s,” Journal of Policy History, ...
The Crafting of Chaos: Narrative Structure in Margaret ...

The Crafting of Chaos: Narrative Structure in Margaret ...

Hildegard Kuester

1n 1981, Patricia Morley published the monograph Margaret Laurence9 in Twayne's World Authors series; with a few additions, it reappeared on the market ten years later under the title Margaret Laurence: The Long Journey Home.
Margaret Weis' Testament of the Dragon: An Illustrated Novel

Margaret Weis' Testament of the Dragon: An Illustrated Novel

Margaret Weis

Here begins Justin Sterling's centuries-spanning story, as told by bestselling author Margaret Weis and her chosen band of dark fantasists, in the world's first major illustrated novel.
Royal Representations: Queen Victoria and British Culture, ...

Royal Representations: Queen Victoria and British Culture, ...

Margaret Homans

Homans considers versions of Victoria in the work of Elizabeth Barrett Browning, George Eliot, John Ruskin, Margaret Oliphant, Lewis Carroll, Alfred Lord Tennyson, and Julia Margaret Cameron.
Wildflowering: The Life and Places of Kathleen McArthur

Wildflowering: The Life and Places of Kathleen McArthur

Margaret Somerville

When author Margaret Somerville met her in 1991 she was still painting and writing, and continued to produce a monthly play for the Lunch Hour Theatre well into her eighties.In Wildflowering the conversations between Kathleen and Margaret ...
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

Judy Blume

It’s Me Margaret is very special.” —Amy Poehler quoted on Vulture.com “Generations of teenage girls have grown up reading the tales of teenage angst told by beloved author Judy Blume.” —Mashable.com Margaret Simon, almost twelve ...
The Ice Age

The Ice Age

Margaret Drabble

Set against a backdrop of the Cold War and the political turmoil that led England to Margaret Thatcher, The Ice Age tells the story of three people desperately seeking firm ground amidst chaos with Margaret Drabble’s characteristically ...
Recipes for Life After Weight-Loss Surgery, Revised and ...

Recipes for Life After Weight-Loss Surgery, Revised and ...

Margaret M. Furtado

... on Lower-BMI Gastric Banding Procedures Margaret M. Furtado, Margaret Furtado, Lynette Schultz, Joseph Ewing. About the Authors lVI&I'g&II'€T F1lI'T&d0 , M.S., R.D., L.D.N., R.Y.T., is a registered and licensed dietitian with over twenty ...
Selected Letters of Margaret Laurence and Adele Wiseman

Selected Letters of Margaret Laurence and Adele Wiseman

Margaret Laurence

Margaret Laurence, John Lennox, Ruth Panofsky, Adele Wiseman. from the Grade 13 English curriculum at Lakefield District Secondary School pending a decision by the Textbook Review Committee of the Peterborough Board of Education.
Margaret Dow Gebby Diaries

Margaret Dow Gebby Diaries

Margaret Dow Gebby

Margaret Dow Gebby recorded in her eleven diaries daily work and leisure activities as well as income and expenses on a grain and livestock farm near Bellefontaine, Ohio.
Margaret Thatcher: The Iron Lady

Margaret Thatcher: The Iron Lady

Biographiq

Margaret Thatcher - The Iron Lady is the biography of Margaret Thatcher, a former British politician who served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1979 to 1990 and leader of the Conservative Party from 1975 until 1990.
One woman's Charlottetown: diaries of Margaret Gray Lord, ...

One woman's Charlottetown: diaries of Margaret Gray Lord, ...

Margaret Gray Lord

This report is based on three diaries of Margaret Pennefather Stukely Gray, daughter of Father of Confederation John Hamilton Gray and wife of Artemas Lord, a prominent businessman and federal civil servant.
How Happy We Shall Be

How Happy We Shall Be

Margaret Thornton

A heartwarming World War Two saga for fans of Kate Flynn, Annie Murray and Margaret Dickinson.
Neverland: J. M. Barrie, the Du Mauriers, and the Dark Side ...

Neverland: J. M. Barrie, the Du Mauriers, and the Dark Side ...

Piers Dudgeon

What Every Woman Knows 216, 222n When AMan's Single 92, 119n Who's Here154 Barrie, Margaret (Barrie's mother) see Ogilvy, Margaret Barrie, Margaret 'Maggie' (Barrie's sister)59, 172,211 Barrie, Mary(Barrie's sister) 58 Barrie, Mary ...
Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree

Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree

Margaret Thornton

A heartwarming World War Two saga for fans of Kate Flynn, Annie Murray and Margaret Dickinson.
Margaret Truman's Experiment in Murder: A Capital Crimes Novel

Margaret Truman's Experiment in Murder: A Capital Crimes Novel

Margaret Truman

Margaret Truman thrills again with Experiment in Murder, the riveting next installment in her Capital Crimes series. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Iron Coffin: War, Technology, and Experience aboard the USS ...

Iron Coffin: War, Technology, and Experience aboard the USS ...

David A. Mindell

29, 1862. 39. Margaret Creighton and Lisa Norling, introduction to Margaret Creighton and Lisa Norling, eds., Iron Men, Wooden Women: Gender and Seafaring in the Atlantic World 1700–1920 (Baltimore, 1996), xiii; Margaret Creighton, Rites ...
Early Tudor translators: Margaret Beaufort, Margaret More ...

Early Tudor translators: Margaret Beaufort, Margaret More ...

William Atkinson

This volume presents the texts of three Englishwomen remarkable both for writing and publishing their work during the first half of the sixteenth century.
Ceramics Before Farming: The Dispersal of Pottery Among ...

Ceramics Before Farming: The Dispersal of Pottery Among ...

Peter Jordan

Palestine in the Bronze and Iron Ages Paula J. Turner, Roman Coins from India Margaret M. Roxan, Roman Military Diplomas 1985 to 1993 Margaret M. Roxan, Roman Military Diplomas 1978 to 1984 Margaret M. Roxan, Roman Military ...
The Sacrifice

The Sacrifice

Margaret Iggulden

Petra, the ancient city of rose-coloured rock 'half as old as time', feels strangely familiar to Margaret and Barbara as they explore it. But why? Is it possible to discover in the present... and, if so, can it be changed?
Margaret Atwood: Works and Impact

Margaret Atwood: Works and Impact

Preview

A collection of new essays on the multi-talented Canadian writer Margaret Atwood.
Hidden Lives: A Family Memoir

Hidden Lives: A Family Memoir

Margaret Forster

Margaret Forster's grandmother died in 1936, taking many secrets to her grave.
Margaret Olley

Margaret Olley

Barry Pearce

Margaret Hannah Olley AC was an Australian painter who was the subject of more than 90 solo exhibitions.
To Cherish the Life of the World: Selected Letters of ...

To Cherish the Life of the World: Selected Letters of ...

Margaret Mead

Copyright © 2006 by Margaret M. Caffrey and Patricia A. Francis; Margaret Mead's letters copyright © 2006 Mead Estate; ... To cherish the life of the world : selected letters of Margaret Mead / edited by Margaret M. Caffrey and Patricia A.
Women Writing Culture

Women Writing Culture

Preview

As she herself described, and as her biographers, Margaret Mead, Judith Schachter Modell, and Margaret M. Caffrey, have amply documented, hers was a traumatic, unhappy childhood. Her father, a physician, died when she was two ...
Margaret in Hollywood: A Novel

Margaret in Hollywood: A Novel

Darcy O'Brien

Margaret in Hollywood is the tale of a young woman who refuses to be owned and will not be cowed, and whose love of life propels her onward.
Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Coral A. Howells

Winner of the Margaret Atwood Society Best Book in 1997, this is the essential guide to one of the world's most successful contemporary authors.
Margaret McWilliams: An Interwar Feminist

Margaret McWilliams: An Interwar Feminist

Mary Kinnear

Margaret McWilliams, the woman, was an exemplary model of women in post-suffrage public life.
Are You There God? It's Me Margaret.

Are You There God? It's Me Margaret.

Judy Blume

Faced with the difficulties of growing up and choosing a religion, eleven- going on twelve-year-old Margaret talks over her problems with her own private God.
Margaret Truman's Own Story: Souvenir

Margaret Truman's Own Story: Souvenir

Margaret Truman

This is a new release of the original 1956 edition.